Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes. Source: Autosport
After Ferrari’s dominant start, Vettel’s error and mechanical problems for Leclerc handed the victory in Bahrain to Lewis Hamilton.

Charles Leclerc struggled at the start, fell to third, but quickly recovered and took the lead of his teammate Vettel in bold overtake in the first few laps of the race. After the second round of pit stops the Monegasque had a comfortable lead over Vettel, who was battling with Hamilton for the entire race.

In a matter of 10 laps the race went from Ferrari’s dominance to total Italian disappointment. After a nice battle with Hamilton, Vettel spun by himself and, due to the vibration of the damaged tires, destroyed his front wing. Shortly after Leclerc at the lead reported problems in his engine. Ferrari confirmed: problems in the recovery of energy, about 160 horsepower missing from the engine. In the end, the almost certain one-two for Ferrari became P3 for Leclerc third and only a 5th place for Vettel.

Mercedes had the last laugh, finishing one-two even with slightly slower pace. Five-time champion Lewis Hamilton won with Valtteri Bottas in 2nd after steady race.

The busy race was filled with unusual moments such as Vettel’s mistake and the synchronized retirement of the Renault duo, who did a good race as “the best of the rest” and suffered mechanical problems at the same time two laps from the end.

With the result Mercedes increased the lead in the constructors’ championship, after two races with maximum points. Valtteri Bottas maintains the lead of the drivers’ championship over Lewis Hamilton, while Ferrari will have to work hard on their technical and psychological problems to rebound in the title fight.

Final Result of the Bahrain Grand Prix

Driver Team Time
1) Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2) Valtteri Bottas Mercedes +2.980
3) Charles Leclerc Ferrari +6.131
4) Max Verstappen Red Bull +6.408
5) Sebastian Vettel Ferrari +36.068
6) Lando Norris McLaren +45.754
7) Kimi Raikkonen Alfa Romeo +47.470
8) Pierre Gasly Red Bull +58.094
9) Alex Albon Toro Rosso +62.697
10) Sergio Perez Racing Point +63.696
11) Antonio Giovinazzi Alfa Romeo +64.599
12) Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso +1 LAP
13) Kevin Magnussen Haas +1 LAP
14) Lance Stroll Racing Point +1 LAP
15) George Russell Williams +1 LAP
16) Robert Kubica Williams +1 LAP
Did not finish
Nico Hulkenberg Renault
Daniel Ricciardo Renault
Romain Grosjean Haas
Carlos Sainz McLaren


Source: Sky Sports F1


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.