Chinese GP start (Photo by Mark Thompson/Getty Images)
Lewis Hamilton jumped teammate Bottas at the start and controlled the race from the first lap onwards.

With impressive performance the Englishman reached his 75th victory in the series and took the lead of the championship. Valtteri Bottas threatened the lead after the first round of stops, but in the end had no pace to overcome his teammate. It is the first time in its history that Mercedes starts the season with three consecutive doubles.

Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel appeared took the final step on the podium, his first of the year in yet another bitter race for the Italians. Not only did the pace of Ferrari disappointed again, but the internal dispute between Vettel and Leclerc was close and poorly managed. Leclerc had to let his team-mate overtake him in the first few laps after team orders and then suffered with a strange tire strategy that left him in a lonely 5th.

Max Verstappen heated up the race in his Red Bull, starting the two rounds of tire changes and pressing Sebastian Vettel, but in the end had to settle for the 4th position. Pierre Gasly is still far from the pace of the leaders, but made an extra stop with two laps remaining and secured the extra point for the best lap of the race.

Daniel Ricciardo was the ‘best of the rest’ after a strong and consistent race, scoring his first points as a Renault driver. Points positions were completed with great recovery races. Sergio Perez jumped well in the start to secure the 8th place, while Kimi Raikkonen made several overtakes and finished in 9th. The big star, however, was Alexander Albon of Toro Rosso who started in the pits after his huge crash on Saturday but managed to finish in the scoring zone.

Final result of the Chinese Grand Prix

Driver Team Time
1) Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2) Valtteri Bottas Mercedes +6.552
3) Sebastian Vettel Ferrari +13.744
4) Max Verstappen Red Bull +27.627
5) Charles Leclerc Ferrari +31.276
6) Pierre Gasly Red Bull +89.307
7) Daniel Ricciardo Renault +1 LAP
8) Sergio Perez Racing Point +1 LAP
9) Kimi Raikkonen Alfa Romeo +1 LAP
10) Alexander Albon Toro Rosso +1 LAP
11) Romain Grosjean Haas +1 LAP
12) Lance Stroll Racing Point +1 LAP
13) Kevin Magnussen Haas +1 LAP
14) Carlos Sainz McLaren +1 LAP
15) Antonio Giovinazzi Alfa Romeo +1 LAP
16) George Russell Williams +2 LAPS
17) Robert Kubica Williams +2 LAPS
Did not finish
Lando Norris McLaren
Nico Hulkenberg Renault
Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso


Source: Sky Sports F1


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.