Bold Lewis Hamilton wins Hungarian Grand Prix

Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes W10. Source: Getty Images
Lewis Hamilton counted on a bold strategy and impressive pace to beat Verstappen and win in Hungary.

Max Verstappen started well and led quietly for more than half of the race, but the excessive tire wear on his Red Bull allowed Hamilton to attack. The beautiful dispute went on for several laps, until Mercedes risked and converted Lewis to a two stops race. The Englishman had an impressive pace for more than 20 laps to hunt down and overtake Verstappen with three laps to go. Hamilton reached his 7th win in Hungary and increased his lead in the championship.

Ferrari was merely supporting in the race, the Italian team finished more than 50 seconds behind the lead. Sebastian Vettel had a different strategy and strong pace in the final laps to overtake his team-mate Leclerc to secure a podium position. The team’s disappointment was expected, but the next two races at Spa and Monza should show a much stronger Ferrari.

Carlos Sainz again proved very strong in race pace with his Mclaren to reach 5th position at the end of the race. Pierre Gasly was lapped by his teammate and finished only 6th, another disappointing weekend from the Frenchman. Kimi Raikkonen finished 7th, as always consistent and taking the most out of his Alfa Romeo.

Valtteri Bottas started in second position, but in the first meters of the race he collided with Hamilton and Leclerc, damaging his front wing, which knocked the Finn to last in the first few laps. Still, Bottas recovered to score, closing the race in 8th place. Lando Norris suffered problems with his pit stop, which knocked him down the order and left the Englishman a bittersweet two points in ninth. Albon and his Toro Rosso closed the points.

Hungarian Grand Prix Final Result

Cla Driver Chassis Time
1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2 Max Verstappen Red Bull 17.796
3 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1’01.433
4 Charles Leclerc Ferrari 1’05.250
5 Carlos Sainz Jr. McLaren 1 lap
6 Pierre Gasly Red Bull 1 lap
7 Kimi Raikkonen Alfa Romeo 1 lap
8 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 1 lap
9 Lando Norris McLaren 1 lap
10 Alex Albon Toro Rosso 1 lap
11 Sergio Perez Racing Point 1 lap
12 Nico Hulkenberg Renault 1 lap
13 Kevin Magnussen Haas 1 lap
14 Daniel Ricciardo Renault 1 lap
15 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso 2 laps
16 George Russell Williams 2 laps
17 Lance Stroll Racing Point 2 laps
18 Antonio Giovinazzi Alfa Romeo 2 laps
19 Robert Kubica Williams 3 laps
Romain Grosjean Haas


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.